

Facing page: Former astronaut Eileen
Collins '78, H'01 presented a \$10,000
scholarship from the Astronaut Scholarship
Foundation (ASF) to Rebecca Rought '08,
a senior aerospace engineering major in
SU's L.C. Smith College of Engineering and
Computer Science. The prestigious award is
one of 19 made available each year through
the ASF. The scholarships are awarded
to college students who have exhibited
exceptional performance initiative and
creativity in science or engineering. Following
the award presentation, Collins, the first
woman to command the space shuttle, gave
a free public lecture.

Below, top: Eight new members of the Syracuse University Board of Trustees were inducted in a ceremony held in Crouse College's Rose and Jules R. Setnor Auditorium. Those inducted by presiding chair-elect John H. Chapple '75 were: Walter J. Bobkiewicz III G'89, Robert E. Dineen Jr. L'66, James D. Kuhn '70, G'72, Arthur S. Liu G'66, Theodore A. McKee L'75, Judith C. Mower '66, G'73, G'80, G'84, Howard G. Phanstiel '70, G'71, and Thomas C. Wilmot '70. Ryan A. Kelly '08 and Joseph D. Wieder '08, student representatives to the Board of Trustees, were also recognized during the ceremony.

Below, bottom: The SU Orange football team went from underdogs to victors in an exhilarating 38-35 win against the Louisville Cardinals, ranked 18th in the nation.





