Syracuse University

SURFACE at Syracuse University

Setnor School of Music - Performance **Programs**

Setnor School of Music

11-3-2016

Contemporary Music Ensemble; Stephen Ferre, Director

Contemporary Music Ensemble, Setnor School of Music

Stephen Ferre Syracuse University

Follow this and additional works at: https://surface.syr.edu/setnor_performances



Part of the Music Performance Commons

Recommended Citation

Setnor School of Music, Syracuse University. Contemporary Music Ensemble; Stephen Ferre, Director. 11-3-2016 https://surface.syr.edu/setnor_performances/329

This Performance Program is brought to you for free and open access by the Setnor School of Music at SURFACE at Syracuse University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Setnor School of Music - Performance Programs by an authorized administrator of SURFACE at Syracuse University. For more information, please contact surface@syr.edu.





Contemporary Music Ensemble Stephen Ferre, Director

Setnor Auditorium November 3, 2016 8:00 pm

Please be sure to turn off all electronic devices, and please refrain from making extraneous noise, talking, taking flash photographs, or moving about the auditorium during the performance. It is important for performers and audience members to have the best possible concertgoing experience in Setnor Auditorium. Thank you.







Contemporary Music Ensemble

Laura Norton, flute* Rebekah Timerman, clarinets Kelly Harper, clarinets* Avery Wheelock, clarinet** Guy Johanson, oboe, English horn Maria Savannah, bassoon Brianna Holzman, horn Kevin Varga, trumpet Kevin Del Fuoco, trumpet** Connor Owen, trombone Jeremy Smith, timpani Charles Van Tassel, piano, percussion, violoncello** Jon Trudell, percussion Ming Chai, piano Paul Michael Clark, piano* Geofrey Cua, violin* Dylan Jackson, violin Patricia Jancova, violin Eamonn O'Neill, violin

Valandrah Abraham, viola

Jennifer Suh, violoncello*

Hannah Schuldt, violoncello Mario Pietra, contrabass

Emily Lane, viola

Appalachian Spring Suite, version for 13 instruments

Aaron Copland (b. 1900-1990)

Improvisation 1

Avery Wheelock, clarinet; Charles Van Tassel, piano

Thirteen Haiku (Jack Kerouac)

George N. Gianopoulos

(b. 1984)

Brianna Lombino, soprano; Sasha Turner, mezzo soprano; Daniel Field, tenor; Tyme Baez, baritone Matthew Gartshore, piano

Intermission

Circle in the Round

James Crowley (b. 1963)

Improvisation 2: ACK

Avery Wheelock, clarinet; Charles Van Tassel, violoncello, Kevin Del Fuoco, trumpet

Paradiso

Stephen Ferre

(b. 1961)

First performance, version for sinfonietta



^{*}performers for Crowley

^{**}members of improvisation group