Intertext

Volume 23 | Issue 1

Article 3

2015

TOC

Follow this and additional works at: https://surface.syr.edu/intertext

Recommended Citation

(2015) "TOC," *Intertext*: Vol. 23 : Iss. 1 , Article 3. Available at: https://surface.syr.edu/intertext/vol23/iss1/3

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by SURFACE. It has been accepted for inclusion in Intertext by an authorized editor of SURFACE. For more information, please contact surface@syr.edu.

CONTENTS

EDITORS

Maryann Akinboyewa

Maura Buckley

Emily Goldberg

Caleigh Gran

Jaye Michelle Harris

Victoria Luyckx

Annemarie Menna

Chamelia Moore

Gilmarie Perea-Ruiz

T.J. Tree

FACULTY ADVISOR

Patrick W. Berry

Intertext is a publication of the Syracuse University Writing Program. It features the work of Writing Program students and represents the quality and variety of writing produced in its undergraduate courses. 2 INTRODUCTION

4 Contributors

6 PERSPECTIVE Maura Buckley, Emily Goldberg, and T.J. Tree

8 A Simple Push Steven Young Written for WRT 255

12 Sugar Katrina Sotiropoulos Written for WRT 255

18 Biking Wrong Olivia Accardo Written for WRT 422

24

HOME Caleigh Gran, Victoria Luyckx, Annemarie Menna, and Chamelia Moore

26 Postcards from Tornado Alley Johnathan McClintick Written for WRT 422 28 Without You Padraic Kane Written for WRT 422

36 Grandpapa Julia Whittley Written for WRT 114

38 For Those Who Do Not Swallow Johnathan McClintick Written for WRT 422

40 A Geometry Problem & Tombstone Blues Doug D'Elia Syracuse Veterans' Writing Group

42 IDENTITY Maryann Akinboyewa, Jaye Michelle Harris, and Gilmarie Perea-Ruiz

44 A Black Male Roland Cody Jr. Written for WRT 424

50 Scars of a Culture Puhup Manas Written for WRT 105 54 The Invisible Cage Michaela Thorley Written for WRT 400

60 Meet the Editors

62 Meet the Artists

ONLINE http://wrt-intertext.syr.edu

Biking Wrong Olivia Accardo Written for WRT 422

A Black Male Roland Cody Jr. Written for WRT 424

For Those Who Do Not Swallow Johnathan McClintick Written for WRT 422

The Louise Wetherbee Phelps Award recognizes excellence in writing in the Writing Program's courses. Submissions are evaluated on depth, complexity, technical control, emotional and intellectual appeal, and how well they reflect the goals of the Writing Program. The 2015 winners are Puhup Manas for "Scars of a Culture" and Michaela Thorley for "The Invisible Cage."

